List of Universities That Are Not Under ASUU

List of Universities That Are Not Under ASUU – If you’re interested in discovering Nigerian universities not affiliated with ASUU, take a moment to peruse this entire blog post. As a student, it’s crucial to be aware of schools outside ASUU, as it helps you to avoid potential disruptions from ASUU strikes during your academic journey.

List of Universities That Are Not Under ASUU

Additionally, there are federal universities not under ASUU’s umbrella that you can consider applying to. ASUU strikes, unfortunately, can occasionally disrupt studies for various reasons, not only halting education but also taking a toll on students mentally.

These strikes can persist for months, leaving no clear resolution in sight. So, before applying to a university, it is a good idea to take note of universities that are not under ASUU. And right here in this article, we will be exploring Nigerian Universities that are currently not under ASUU.

List Of Federal Universities That Are Not Under ASUU

Mostly, Federal Universities are under ASUU. But presently, there are two federal universities in Nigeria that operate independently of ASUU, and they are as follows:

  • University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN): Situated in Nsukka, Enugu state, Nigeria, this institution is also recognized as UNN.
  • University of Ilorin (Unilorin): Located in Ilorin, Kwara State, Nigeria, Unilorin is a federal university administered by the government.

These universities stand apart from the Academic Union, and if you’re intrigued, you can explore more about them.

List Of State Universities That Are Not Under ASUU

If you prefer to apply to a state university and then you are not sure of which to apply to. Because you want to apply to one that isn’t under ASUU. Here are some state universities that are independent of ASUU below;

  • Kwara State University (KWASU).
  • Osun State University.
  • Prince Abubakar Audu University, Anyigba.
  • Delta State University.
  • Lagos State University.
  • Ekiti State University.
  • Rivers State University.

Kwara State University (KWASU)

Kwara State University, a renowned institution owned by the state government, ceased its affiliation with ASUU in 2022 due to its decision not to participate in strikes. This university stands as a notable example of a state-owned institution that is not part of ASUU.

Osun State University

Osun State University, a well-known institution owned by the state government, is not affiliated with ASUU (Academic Union). The university has explicitly stated its intention not to participate in ASUU strikes, and it has distanced itself from the body.

Prince Abubakar Audu University, Anyigba

Kogi State University Anyigba, now recognized as Prince Abubakar Audu University, is a state-owned institution that has disassociated itself from ASUU. This decision was made in 2017 following a strike, and the university is no longer a part of ASUU.

Delta State University

Delta State University, a prestigious institution owned by the state, stands distinct as a non-member of ASUU. The university’s decision to disassociate from ASUU came after a strike that resulted in months of disrupted studies, prompting students to remain at home.

Lagos State University

Lagos State University, a renowned institution in Nigeria celebrated for its exceptional education system and accomplished alumni, operates as a state-owned university outside the scope of ASUU. The influential support of Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu has contributed to the university’s departure from ASUU, marking a significant transition.

Ekiti State University

Ekiti State University is another state-owned institution, currently not affiliated with ASUU. The university demonstrates its commitment by resuming activities even during ASUU strikes, emphasizing its non-membership status with the organization.

Rivers State University

Rivers State University, a state-owned institution, presently operates independently of the Academic Union, ASUU. The university has formally disengaged from ASUU and maintains its operations during strikes, demonstrating its commitment to uninterrupted activities.

How Many Federal Universities Are Not Under ASUU?

Apparently, there are only two universities that are not part of the Academic Union known as ASUU and they include the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, and the University of Ilorin.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here